Gutted that I couldn’t make this. The conference was really exciting. Check out some related C&C goodness!

Archaeodeath

IMG_8061 Wat’s Dyke near Ruabon

On Friday 10th April, I presented a public lecture at the Riverside Innovation Centre at the University of Chester, serving as keynote for the subsequent day’s conference on Contest and Collaboration: Chester Conference on the March of Wales co-organised by Dr Sara Elin Roberts and Rachel Swallow. I really enjoyed the subsequent day in which there were papers dealing with a wide range of topics from Chris Lewis discussing English place-names west of Offa’s Dyke through to Rachel Swallow providing a new interpretation of Aldford and Farndon’s signficance in the late Anglo-Saxon period in relation to Chester. Here I want to outline the key points I made in my keynote.

As part of my work on the Past in its Place project, extending from my work on Project Eliseg, I am reading and thinking as well as conducting some new fieldwork and landscape…

View original post 703 more words