This is another spot-on blog that echoes a lot of my own experiences and thoughts on academia, coming from a working-class background.

In my case, I have the additional Oxbridge badge which, being state schooled, has never done me any favours either. I made friends of the same social class to me, none of whom remain in academia. I’m aware of others in the same position who, like me, appreciated their Oxbridge opportunites as an Undergraduate but know that this does not automatically equate to ‘getting a head start’ in academic circles by any means. I have met with the perception that it does, which is not [necessarily] the case.

I digress. Grace Cale’s blog post is reblogged here:

Conditionally Accepted

Grace Cale photoGrace Cale is a PhD student in sociology.  Having gained her undergraduate degree from a college that specifically accepts marginalized and impoverished students, she is a passionate ally to many causes of social justice. Her research interests focus on political participation, social movements, neoliberalism, markets, and financialization. In the second part of this two-part essay (see Part I), Grace offers specific tips to working- and poverty-class for self-care and success in academia.

A Poverty-Class Academic’s Guide to Getting It Done … Whatever “It” Is

In my previous article, I shared a little bit about the experience of poverty, and how that background can produce unique challenges in one’s graduate school experience. In this second part, I would like to take some time to translate these experiences as I follow my own call to action: to begin a process of resource sharing among poverty- and working-class academics.

One thing that…

View original post 1,297 more words