I’ve also read a good deal of academic quit lit – didn’t realise it was its own genre – and while that’s been useful, it’s also helpful (and healthy) to take things on balance. I like this piece. It’s one of the few positive things I’ve seen. True, academia may decide you are not for it even if you don’t decide it’s not for you, but, speaking personally, I intend to given it my best shot and see how it goes. I won’t have any regrets about that.

The Research Whisperer

corrie-williams-smallCorrie Williams is a doctoral candidate in Criminology and Criminal Justice at Griffith University, Gold Coast (Qld).

Prior to this, she worked in the justice system as a frontline case manager.

Her research interests include the developmental antecedents of offending and individual and community level social support in the prevention of offending.

Corrie completed an undergraduate degree in psychology in 2006, and a Masters in Criminology and Criminal Justice in 2014.


Photo by huppypie | www.flickr.com/photos/huppypiePhoto by huppypie | http://www.flickr.com/photos/huppypie

My attention has been recently drawn to academic quit lit.

I was not aware that it was such a prolific practice that it carries its own moniker.

Since making the decision many years ago to commence postgraduate studies, I have been very fortunate to have some wonderful mentors who have encouraged me to use my writing and research skills to pursue a career in academia.

As I approached the end of my coursework and honours journey…

View original post 844 more words